top of page

Clubs & Activities

AFJROTC Drill Team

Purpose: Competition Marching

Meeting: Tuesdays and Thursdays

Location: South Commons

Cost: None

Sponsor: Sargent Quintana: squintana@abs.misd.net

Archery Club

Purpose: To teach students how to shoot a bow and arrow and how to do this succesfully, while learning the proper commands and whistle cues for an archery range.

Meeting: Every Thursday - 2 Hours

Location: Middle School South Cafeteria

Cost: None

Sponsor: Mary Newman: mnewman1@abs.misd.net

Book Club

Purpose: To bring students together to meet, read and talk about today's popular Young Adult books

Meeting: Twice a month (Second and Fourth Wednesday)

Location: High School Media Center

Cost: A book

Sponsor: Jodi Quigley: quigley@abs.misd.net

Boys Rugby Team

Purpose: Rugby Team

Meeting: 4-6 Times a week M-F at 5PM Sat at 12PM

Location: High School Gym/athletic

Cost: $250

Sponsor: Tomas Wincel:  ABHRugby@outlook.com 

Bridge Building

Purpose: To create balsa bridges, along with a detailed proposal and compete at the state competition.

Meeting: Every Wednesday from 2:30 – 4:15PM

Location: ABMSS

Cost: None

Sponsor: Julie Sheridan: jsheridan@abs.misd.net

Business Professionals of America (BPA)

Purpose: To give students business and leadership opportunity as they complete in various events.

Meeting: Twice a month on Tuesdays

Location: E117

Cost: $20

Sponsor: James Wagner: jwagner@abs.misd.net

Chess Club

Purpose: To get together and play chess

Meeting: Every other Tuesday

Location: High School Media Center

Cost: $5

Sponsor: Jared Biesbrouck: jbiesbrouck@abs.misd.net

Clay Target League

Purpose: Teaches students discipline, focus, team work, leadership, and concentration.

Meeting: Every Monday at 5:30 pm

Location: Huron Pointe Sportsman Association is located at 35800 East 28 Mile Road in Lenox.

Cost: Varies

Sponsor: Tina Froehlich: tfroehlich@abs.misd.net

Creative Writing Club

Purpose: To allow Anchor Bay High School students to further their interest in creative writing by analyzing stories and engaging in peer criticism, editing and review. To better their works with the possibility of publishing.

Meeting: Every other Thursday before school

Location: N102

Cost: Members will have to buy books or rent movies that will be discussed

Sponsor: Donald Dziuk: ddziuk@abs.misd.net

DECA

Purpose: Business Club

Meeting: Wednesdays

Location: E100

Cost: $30

Sponsor: Bryan Mittelstadt: stoneysoccer@gmail.com

Diversity Club

Purpose: Spread diversity and awareness to students and staff!

Meeting: Every Other Wednesday

Location: S206

Cost: None

Sponsor: Kristen Anderson: kanderson@abs.misd.net

Drama

Purpose: Theatre study and execution

Meeting: 3 or more days a week 2:30Pm – 5:50PM

Location: High School Auditorium

Cost: None

Sponsor: Dawn Battice: dbattice@abs.misd.net

Dungeons & Dragons Club

Purpose: Students will play Dungeons and Dragons and build community among members of the club.

Meeting: Every other Friday

Location: High School Media Center

Cost: None

Sponsor: Nicole Rhein: nrhein@abs.misd.net

Eco Club

Purpose: To raise awareness of environmental issues and to engage student participation in reducing their environmental impact. We will also apply for the Michigan Green Schools Environmental Stewardship Designation.

Meeting: Every Monday after school

Location: S217

Cost: None

Sponsor: Heather Conte: hconte@abs.misd.net

Esports

Purpose: Networking and Competition

Meeting: Based on Competitions (Wednesday and Thursday)

Location: N213

Cost: None

Sponsor: Bryan Mittelstadt: bmittelstadt@abs.misd.net

Fishing Club

Purpose: The purpose of this club is to promote sportsmanship, conservation, and angler skillsets.

Meeting: 5-6 times a year in September

Location: Great Oaks Elementary

Cost: None

Sponsor: Shawn Elliot: anchorbayfishing@gmail.com

Forensics

Purpose: authentic presentation and communication experience (competition)

Meeting: daily in class and at approximately ten weekend tournaments. Tournament season is January through May

Location: E119

Cost: None

Sponsor: Dawn Battice: dbattice@abs.misd.net

Gender & Sexualities Alliance Club

Purpose: The purpose of the club is to create a safe, welcoming, and accepting school environment for all students.

Meeting: Every Monday from 2:15-3:15

Location: N226

Cost: None

Sponsor: Lori Boseak: lboseak@abs.misd.net

Girls Wrestling Team

Purpose: To introduce girls to the sport of wrestling.

Meeting: Monday through Friday After school

Location: Middle School North

Cost: $75 plus cost of tournaments

Sponsor: John-Christopher Sbraccia: jcsbraccia@gmail.com

Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA)

Purpose: HOSA is a global student-led organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Department of Health and Human Services and several federal and state agencies. HOSA’s mission is to empower HOSA-Future Health Professionals to become leaders in the global health community, through education, collaboration, and experience. HOSA actively promotes career opportunities in the health industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people. HOSA’s goal is to encourage all health science instructors and students to affiliate and be actively involved in the HSE-HOSA Partnership.

Meeting: Every Thursday after school

Location: E130

Cost: Varies based on competition

Sponsor: Jennifer Dixon: jdixon@abs.misd.net

Key Club

Purpose: Service Organization

Meeting: Every other Friday after school

Location: High School Media Center

Cost: None

Sponsor: Abigail Boes: aboes@abs.misd.net

Mock Trial

Purpose: Competition Legal Team

Meeting: 1-2 times per week for 2 hours each time, every Wednesday

Location: S102

Cost: $35 to cover registration

Sponsor: Denise O’Hearn: dohearn@abs.misd.net

National Honor Society (NHS)

Purpose: National Honor Society (NHS) membership has been the true mark of student achievement for over 100 years, but it goes far beyond a report card. By empowering, championing, and recognizing well-rounded students, NHS provides schools with a values-based framework to elevate a culture of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

Meeting: Third Tuesday of the month, and tutoring on Mondays and Thursdays 2:15 – 3:15

Location: High School Media Center

Applications: Applications will go out in February, induction will happen in the spring

Cost: None

Sponsor: Rachel Kitchens: rkitchens@abs.misd.net Kim Koch: kkoch@abs.misd.net

No Bull Club

Purpose: To inform, raise awareness, and help prevent bullying

Meeting: Second Monday of the month after school.

Location: N202

Cost: None

Sponsor: Dave Kirsten: dkirsten@abs.misd.net

Physics Club

Purpose: The purpose is to allow students to further explore the world of physics.

Meeting: Weekly Tuesday Mornings

Location: N124

Cost: $50

Sponsor: Jared Biesbrouck: jbiesbrouck@abs.misd.net

Powerlifting Club

Purpose: Highly structured Workout Program that will focus on the three main lifts in the MHSPLA (bench press, squat, deadlift). This club will develop strength of athletes of all ages. Members can compete as well at regional and state events. Men and women are both encouraged to join.

Meeting: Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday from November 27th - March 9th

Location: High School Weight Room

Cost: Varies based on Competition

Sponsor: Anthony Traub: atraub@abs.misd.net

 

Relay for Life

Purpose: Community effort to raise money for and awareness of the American Cancer Society

Meeting: First and third Wednesday of the month

Location: N112

Cost: None

Sponsor: Phil Ricci: pricci@abs.misd.net

Scrapbooking Club

Purpose: A creative club that will allow students to create their scrapbooks, memory boxes, and anything else that will incapsulate their high school years. Students will learn other forms of expression through creativity and art.

Meeting: Every other Monday after school

Location: N216

Cost: $15

Sponsor: Abigail Boes: aboes@abs.misd.net

Ski Club

Purpose: Learn to ski and have fun

Meeting: One informational meeting in late fall, then 5 trips in January and February

Location: High School Commons and local ski resort

Cost: Fees for transportation, lift tickets and possible equipment rental fees

Sponsor: Dave Kirsten: dkirsten@abs.misd.net

Spanish Club

Purpose: Promoting Spanish learning throughout the school community.

Meeting: Second Tuesday of the month

Location: N128

Cost: None

Sponsor: Saba Malouf: smalouf@abs.misd.net

Sports Medicine Club

Purpose: To educate and inform students about careers in sports medicine, provide educational and workforce insight, and set examples of the do's and don't's of sports medicine health care.

Meeting: Wednesdays 2:15-4:00

Location: Athletic Training Room

Cost: None

Sponsor: Elizabeth Landa: elanda@abs.misd.net

Student Council

Purpose: A Student Council is a group of elected and volunteer students working together with an adult advisor within the framework of a constitution or bylaws to provide a means for student expression and assistance in school affairs and activities, give opportunities for student experience in leadership and encourage student / faculty / community relations

Meeting: Every other Thursday after school

Location: S212

Application: Applications will be sent out the end of April, acceptance will go out mid May

Cost: None

Sponsor: Rachel Kitchens: rkitchens@abs.misd.net Kim Koch: kkoch@abs.misd.net

Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)

Purpose: empowers and mobilizes students and adult allies to engage in positive change through leadership and smart decision-making

Meeting: Every other Thursday after school

Location: E131

Cost: $5

Sponsor: Elizabeth VanNuck: evannuck@abs.misd.net

Winter Drumline

Purpose: Rehearse and perform music for events

Meeting: Once a week after school (Day to be determined)

Location: High School Band Room

Cost: None

Sponsor: Jonathan Carrothers: jcarrothers@abs.misd.net

bottom of page